Attempt 1 – Sachertorte

Now, I’m not one to shy away from a challenge so today I went out of my comfort zone and baked a non-cakey cake (I say non-cakey cake as it’s more eggs than anything else, except of course chocolate!).

A good friend of mine is getting married this year and has asked me about making 3 tiers of Sachertorte so I thought I’d get practising early. Her colours are black and white, so she’s asked for the outside to be lavished with vanilla butter cream instead of the traditional ganache. Following the ‘British Bake Off’ recipe (and despite getting one bit very slightly wrong) I’m pleased with my first attempt. Worried that it was going to be dry (as I’d read this was the experience of a brit who tried Sachertorte in Austria), to my relief it was moist, rich and very chocolatey. The vanilla butter cream really helps cut through the richness of the ‘sponge’ and looks quite dramatic with the colour contrast. Other bakers tend to sandwich these like a Victoria Sponge, filling with chocolate ganache – it looks more substantial, but I’d be worried that it’d cause instant heart failure on the first bite.

I also read that it’s best to wait a couple of days before cutting a Sachertorte – why is this? Does anyone else swear by this?

One response

Leave a Reply

