Oreo cookie cupcakes

What could be better way of spending a rainy, grey day than in the kitchen baking cupcakes? Well, that’s exactly what I did today! I made Oreo cupcakes a while ago for a tasting (which meant sharing them!) so this time I’ve made them all for myself 🙂

I used my favourite basic vanilla batter:

150g Unsalted butter
150g Caster sugar
150g Self-raising flour
3 eggs
1tsp vanilla essence
1tbsp Milk

Then added crushed (bashed with a rolling pin) Oreo cookies to the mixture – it’s best to whizz these into the batter for just a second then fold them in by hand to avoid powdering the biscuits. I trialed my new Wilton Recipe Right pan today and it was great – the PME cases actually fit!! Success.

After baking the cupcakes for around 20 minutes at 175C (in a fan assisted oven), I took them out to cool and whipped up a basic vanilla frosting:

75g unsalted butter (room temperature)
150g Icing sugar
1tsp vanilla essence
1tbsp Milk

This was then piped into the middle of each cake (make double the above to cover the whole of each cake with frosting) and topped with more crushed Oreo cookies.

Leave a Reply

