Hitting the books birthday cake

book birthday cake 1birthday books cake birthday book cake spine book cake pages

A friend of mine has just finished a bunch of exams for her psychology degree, it was a relief when her birthday came around and she could finally relax and celebrate – so I thought not that she’s done with the books, she can eat them instead – the book cake idea was born!

Using a 30cm square tin I baked a vanilla sponge and sectioned it up to give me a two layer large oblong, and a smaller two layer oblong. I covered these in vanilla butter cream and fondant, then made impressions using the back of a knife for the pages. The larger book, I washed the pages with a little colouring to make it appear ‘old’.

For the covers, I cut pieces of fondant to fit the top and side (spine), but slightly overhang all the way round (like a real book cover does). I used a textured rolling pin for the bottom book and applied artwork of the book ‘After Freud Left’ on the top book (using a stamp set and carefully painting in the lettering).

The larger book cake has a black fondant seam and a few gold edible pearls for effect. My final task was the bookmark – I left this to dry while draped over an egg box to give it a curl, then inserted it into the cake at the last minute.

Leave a Reply

